You are viewing vegetarian

Vegetarian
For the Animals, For the Earth, For Ourselves.
Some Ocean Spray Juices Not Vegetarian 
25th-May-2010 03:20 pm
Asparagus
A friend recently contacted Ocean Spray and learned the following about their juices - thought I'd share:

"Please be aware that Ocean Spray Cranberry & Raspberry Juice, Cranberry & Pomegranate Juice & the Cranberry & Raspberry are not advised for a vegetarian/vegan diet. This is because the raspberry and pomegranate juices used are sometimes clarified by filtering through bovine gelatin. This is why we ...don't include the vege...tarian logo on any of our products except Organic Cranberry Sauce."
Comments 
25th-May-2010 07:42 pm (UTC)
Thanks so much for sharing!! I did not know this--I shall be avoiding them from now on, not that I really ever drank them anyway but I will be sure not to now~

Edited at 2010-05-25 07:43 pm (UTC)
25th-May-2010 07:47 pm (UTC)
Crap. I drink those all the time. No more for me.
25th-May-2010 07:56 pm (UTC)
D: I didn't even know that any juices were clarified through gelatin. Gross. I knew wine was often clarified using animal products, but I'd never even thought about juice. (Which is stupid. Why didn't that occur to me?) Does anyone know about other juice brands?
25th-May-2010 09:11 pm (UTC)
I'm thinking maybe the more "natural" versions at co-ops and Whole Foods, the kind that don't look "clarified". But if we have to contact each and every company to be sure, it's sort of ridiculous. Might as well just buy some fresh fruit and a VitaMix.
25th-May-2010 08:16 pm (UTC)
... why??? ugh, people come up with the grossest crap.
25th-May-2010 09:04 pm (UTC)
This.
25th-May-2010 08:32 pm (UTC)
What?! How annoying...
25th-May-2010 08:37 pm (UTC)
Whoa.

That seriously sucks. I drink drank those all the time.

Does anyone know of any safe brands of cranberry juice I can switch to?
25th-May-2010 09:04 pm (UTC)
You could probably find something at Whole Foods.
25th-May-2010 09:10 pm (UTC)
What seriously sucks is that you can't know this sort of information from reading the label. I'm sure it doesn't say anything about it on the label, nor does beer say it's produced with the help of fish bladders. I say we need more truth in labeling, or at least Vegan/Vegetarian symbols on products.
25th-May-2010 09:16 pm (UTC)
I agree. I think a place like Whole Foods as opposed to a regular supermarket may have labels or at least more information on stuff like this. Unfortunately, it probably comes down to calling every food distributor and asking. Suck.
26th-May-2010 01:21 pm (UTC)
I will say this, just like the person who contacted Ocean Spray to obtain the written reply I posted here, I have contacted numerous companies directly to ask if their products contain any animal parts or byproducts. They will answer you if you ask them. I have never had a company not reply to me, or not give me a straight answer. We, as consumers, have the power here.
26th-May-2010 02:47 pm (UTC)
There is probably some literature somewhere on this. Actually, it's most likely. I'll do some searches and see what I can find.
25th-May-2010 09:42 pm (UTC)
So true, it's impossible both have to read the ingredients list of every product you buy (which I already do) AND to somehow keep track of every single brand you purchase processing materials (which change all the time!). You can't just assume because it doesn't have the veg label on it that it's not veg, lots of veg products don't use those symbols. Alas.
25th-May-2010 08:53 pm (UTC)
That is CRAZY. I would never in a million years think that juice would not be veg!
25th-May-2010 09:39 pm (UTC)
wtf. That is so WEIRD! o_O
25th-May-2010 10:02 pm (UTC)
:O :O :O

That's just gross.
25th-May-2010 10:26 pm (UTC)
Well dang, I guess that means that I'll have to start buying fresh cranberries or whatever and making my own juices. Probably better for me anyways. Guess it's time to haul out all the canning stuff and get to work.
25th-May-2010 10:28 pm (UTC)
Stuff like this just makes me more determined to have my own garden and can my own stuff because no matter how careful you try to be there always seems to be a "fly in the ointment". So I guess it's better just to get the fruit and make your own juices and either can them or freeze them, as well as grown your own veggies. Also safer - at least you KNOW what has been put on your produce when you grow it yourself.
26th-May-2010 01:23 pm (UTC)
I agree. I was looking at granola bars in the store yesterday, all the Earthy Crunchy brands like Kashi, and Cascadian Farms, Earth Valley or whatever, and some had soy protein isolate, which is known to contain hexane, a neurotoxin, some had honey, which is not vegan (and I'm a vegan), some had palm oil, even if organic (orangutan habitat is being destroyed by the palm oil industry, so I won't buy anything containing it), etc. I picked up each package, read ingredients, and put each one down, finally realizing how wasteful all that packaging is anyway, and the fact that really I need to learn how to make my own healthy snacks!
26th-May-2010 02:02 am (UTC)
And we think our modern world is so advanced?
26th-May-2010 01:24 pm (UTC)
Only re: cellular phone technology, and iAnything. ;)
26th-May-2010 01:52 pm (UTC)
And look at how cell phones and instant messaging on phones have brought us closer together but actually further apart.

No need to go find someone to talk to them face to face. Just text message them.
26th-May-2010 04:04 pm (UTC)
Agreed.
26th-May-2010 02:39 am (UTC)
I used to use their diet cranberry juice to flavor my water to help me drink more water and get some benefits from the wonderful cranberry but if this is the case, no longer. I also sent them an email telling them how bad I felt about this and let them know I will no longer use their products.
26th-May-2010 02:56 am (UTC)
This is a serious WTF. Thanks for the info.
26th-May-2010 01:29 pm (UTC)
You're welcome. Knowledge is power. :)
26th-May-2010 04:09 am (UTC)
...what in the world. I mean. Really? That just doesn't seem necessary at all.
26th-May-2010 06:25 am (UTC)
I generally drink the organic juices, but sometimes buy Oceanspray. Not anymore.

Thanks for the info =)
26th-May-2010 01:31 pm (UTC)
You're welcome. I stopped drinking their juices when I cut out the high fructose corn syrup actually, but now they promote 100% juice drinks (which are usually cut with apple and white grape juice for sweetness). I still won't be drinking them!
26th-May-2010 04:25 pm (UTC)
Yeah, that's another thing I don't like about most juices. I don't want apple in my cranberry
26th-May-2010 11:26 am (UTC)
Interesting, I drink Northland Juices these days though. I'm contacting them to ask if they do this clarifying process in their juices. I hope not! I live in Korea so I don't have the option of Whole Foods (overpriced imo anyway) or a co-op, I have to go to the commissary for the vast majority of my American products :P
26th-May-2010 01:42 pm (UTC)
I did some more research and it seems like a lot of companies use pork or cow gelatin to clarify their juices. Is your apple juice clear? Then it has been more than likely been clarified with pork or cow gelatin. This process only seems to be for cosmetic reasons to make it more "appealing" to the consumer and has no health benefit. If you look up Halal websites, that seems to be a good resource for that kind of thing since Muslims do not consume pork. There is another process that does not use animal-derived ingredients. I would urge anyone who has issue with this process write to the companies that make your favorite juices and tell them your concerns, it's the only way I can think of to get companies to change their practices. If the juice you get is not clarified, I think there's a good chance it hasn't been through pork or cow gelatin. Also I'm thinking if you buy the concentrate you should be ok, but don't quote me on that, it makes sense to me though.
26th-May-2010 04:03 pm (UTC)
Wow, crazy. I would never imagine that pouring something through gelatin would clarify it. I remember way back in the '70s when it was hip to drink unfiltered apple juice, the "natural" kind, and I think Mott's came out with their own version and it looked like muddy water, but tasted great! I was a big fan.

And I agree, we do have to contact the companies ourselves. Otherwise they won't know our concerns. I suggest a letter writing campaign.

Someone could start a Facebook group! ;)
26th-May-2010 03:09 pm (UTC)
That is the grossest thing ever. WTF!
26th-May-2010 03:10 pm (UTC) - Northland Juices is OK!
I already received a reply from Northland Juices, here is what they said:
Dear Ms. *****:

Thank you for your e-mail regarding our Northland Cranberry 100% juice
blend.

We do not use bovine gelatin or any animal products in any of our Northland juices.

I certainly hope this information is helpful to you.

We do value you as a Northland customer and hope you will continue to enjoy our juices for many years to come.

Best regards,
Donna Tate
Northland Juices, LLC
PO Box 32
Port Washington, NY 11050
26th-May-2010 04:03 pm (UTC) - Re: Northland Juices is OK!
This is good news. Thanks!
26th-May-2010 09:37 pm (UTC) - Re: Northland Juices is OK!
Thanks for your research!
26th-May-2010 05:12 pm (UTC)
Wow - my honest first thoughts were "eeeeeewww!"

Thank you for sharing this! I'm passing it on!
27th-May-2010 08:27 pm (UTC)
I got some information from the people who make Nature's Place Organic juice at Hannaford.

"Good afternoon Mrs. ****,



Cliffstar does use gelatin once in a while when we process fresh grapes into juice. Gelatin is used as a clarifying agent when the turbidity is high.



The other fruits that we process, cranberries and white cranberries we do not use any gelatin we use bentonite. The organic juice concentrates are purchased and we use them as they are delivered to us. If the turbidity is high for instance on the organic cranberry or apple then this product is filtered through diatomaceous earth.



We do classify most of our products as vegetarian friendly.



Regards,



Donaldly Hover

Cliffstar Corporation

1 Cliffstar Ave.

Dunkirk, NY 14048

716-363-3141 phone

716-363-1046 fax

Donnie.Hover@Cliffstar.com"
27th-May-2010 08:30 pm (UTC)
That's ridiculous! What exactly does "once in a while" mean, and why don't they have to put this on the label?!
27th-May-2010 11:34 pm (UTC)
And what is "turbidity"? Bentonite? What the hell?
27th-May-2010 11:35 pm (UTC)
You're welcome, please do share it far and wide - people have the right to win what is in their food/beverages.
28th-May-2010 12:37 pm (UTC)
Oh, I immediately e-mailed it to basically everyone I knew. This is just... soooo gross. Even if I weren't vegan, I'm pretty sure I'd still find it disturbing.
This page was loaded Oct 30th 2014, 6:19 am GMT.